December 13, 2012 all-day
Yearly, forever
Oak Park

Leaders and Legends (12/13/2010)

On this day in 2010, Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany goes on the Big Ten Network and announces that the names for the two new Big Ten (now styled B1G) divisions that will begin play for football in 2011 will be “Leaders” and “Legends”. He then has to explain that he is being completely serious no less than 15 times to the media.

Michigan fans immediately recognize the sheer stupidity of not having the “Leaders and Best” play in the Leaders Division.

The Big Ten announces in April 2013 that when Rutgers and Maryland join the conference in 2014, the divisions will be reorganized into logical and sensible “East” and “West”. Well, except for the part where, with Michigan being in the East, they can’t be “Champions of the West”. Some things never change.

Add Comment Register

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>