13. October 2015 · Comments Off on The National Football Foundation – Michigan Chapter – Wants YOU! · Categories: 2015
By Steve “Dr. Sap” Sapardanis

A couple of months ago I crossed off an item on my Bucket List when I became a member of the National Football Foundation.  For those of you not familiar with the NFF, they are the organization that oversees the College Football Hall of Fame.

Why did I want to become a member of the NFF?  Simply put, I was tired of seeing other players get voted into the College Football Hall of Fame instead of some of the all-time greats of Michigan.  So instead of sitting around and complaining, I did something about it.  I am now a voting member, and while there are some great Michigan players and coaches enshrined (see below), there are several other deserving M-Men that need to get their due.

According to the Bentley Historical Library, there have been 128 first team All-Americans at U-M.  But only 25 players have been inducted so far!

While it was great to see Rob Lytle finally get recognized for his achievements last Saturday, you might ask why did it take almost 40 years for #41 to get inducted into the CFB HOF?   Part of the reason is that the Michigan Chapter of the NFF has experienced a drop-off of membership due to elderly attrition.   We need to pick up the torch and make sure the players that you and I grew up watching get their rightful place in the College Football HOF.

By the way, it’s not only yours truly who is in favor of these efforts, according to John Ghindia, vice president of the Michigan Chapter for the National Football Foundation, “Coach Harbaugh would like to add at least 100 new National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame Michigan Chapter voting members this year.”

If you would like to  join Dr. Sap’s and Coach Harbaugh’s efforts to vote deserving Wolverines into the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame click here for Michigan Chapter Membership information and sign up today!


Michigan Members of the College Football Hall of Fame
Name Years at UM Position * Induction
Albert Benbrook 1908-1910 Guard 1971
David Brown 1972-1974 Defensive Back 2007
Lloyd Carr 1995-2007 Coach 2011
Anthony Carter 1979-1982 Wide Receiver 2001
Bob Chappuis 1942-1947 Halfback 1988
Fritz Crisler 1937-1947 Coach 1954
Tom Curtis 1967-1969 Defensive Back 2005
Dan Dierdorf 1967-1972 Tackle 2000
Chalmers “Bump””Elliott 1946-1947 Halfback 1989
Pete Elliott 1945-1948 Quarterback 1994
Bennie Friedman 1923-1926 Quarterback 1951
Tom Harmon 1937-1940 Halfback 1954
Willie Heston 1901-1904 Halfback 1954
Elroy Hirsch 1943 Halfback 1974
Ron Johnson 1965-1968 Halfback 1992
Harry Kipke 1920-1923 Halfback 1958
Ron Kramer 1953-1956 End 1978
George Little 1922-1924 Coach 1955
Rob Lytle 19273-1976 Tailback 2015
Jim Mandich 1966-1969 End 2005
John Maulbetsch 1914-1916 Halfback 1973
Reggie McKenzie 1968-1971 Guard 2002
William Morley** 1895 Halfback 1971
Harry Newman 1931-1933 Quarterback 1954
Bennie Oosterbaan 1924-1927 End 1954
Merv Pregulman 1940-1943 Guard/Tackle 1982
Glen E. “Bo” Schembechler 1969-1989 Coach 1993
Adolph “Germany” Schulz 1904-1908 Center 1951
Neil Snow 1898-1901 End/Fullback 1960
Ernie Vick 1917-1921 Center 1983
Bob Westfall 1938-1941 Fullback 1987
Elton “Tad” Weiman 1921-1928 Coach 1956
Albert Wistert 1938-1942 Tackle 1968
Alvin Wistert 1946-1949 Tackle 1981
Francis Wistert 1930-1933 Tackle 1967
Fielding Yost 1901-1924, 1926 Coach 1951


As of 2014, there are 948 players and 180 coaches enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame, representing 294 schools.Players by school:

Comments closed